Telepresence Picture Frames

WHAT: A pair of networked photo frames that indicate the remote presence of the person in the photo. For example, if my sister in California moves around in front of her photo of me, my photo frame of her will gently flicker and light up here in New York, and vice-versa.

When my sister in California stands in front her photo of me...

...my photo of her in my New York apartment flickers like a firefly.

And when I stand in front of my photo of my sister...

...her photo of me lights up.

WHY:
The goal was to provide a means of ambient notification that a loved one is present, similar to noticing a friend walk by your window or noticing a friend is online in a Chat application.

HOW:
Each picture frame has an embedded motion detector, as well as an internet connection. When my sister walks by her frame, a motion detector is activated, and a signal is sent out through the internet. My frame immediately receives this signal from my sister’s frame, and it lights up a series of LEDs that illuminate a frame design laser etched into the glass.

featured on


About msallin

Matty Sallin is the founder of Kinfo.com. Since 1999, Matty has worked to develop consumer products that manage everyday information and media in a satisfying, illuminating, and beautiful way. His professional and academic work has focused on social media, information design and information visualization. His work has appeared in the New York Times, Good Morning America, GQ, American Public Media, Make Magazine, Boing Boing, Engadget, Gizmodo, Coolhunting, ResFest, and others. Matty holds a Master’s degree from New York University’s Interactive Telecommunications Program and a Bachelor’s degree from UC Santa Cruz.
This entry was posted in Product Design. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Telepresence Picture Frames

  1. Whoa, that’s interesting! I LOVE the concept as an art installation…however, have you thought about this as a cheap, decorative home security device? I mean, hang one of these on the entryway wall, and it alerts you if the door opens on your phone? That type of thing? So long as you don’t have a crazy tall dog like my neighbors.

Leave a Reply

